

Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association (ARGA) Inc. Special General Meeting 2012

Minutes for the General Meeting of the Australian Regolith Geoscientists Association held at the Quality Hotel Mildura Grand at 12:10 pm on Thursday 9th February 2012.

Present: Lisa Worrall (President), John Keeling (Treasurer), Richard Creswell (Conference organiser), Stephanie McLennan (Student representative) and 38 members including David Gray, Alan Mauger, Lilianna Stoian, Matilda Thomas, Vanessa Wong, Andrew McPherson, Graham Taylor, Brad Pillans, Keith Scott, Paul Shand, Malcolm Sheard, Bob Gilkes, Will Gates and Graham Jenke.

1. Welcome (Chair Lisa Worrall)

The General Meeting of ARGA was opened at 12:20 pm and those present were welcomed by Lisa Worrall. The following apologies were noted:

Apologies: Ian Roach, Anna Petts, Ken McQueen, Tony Eggleton.

Appointment of proxy votes: None received.

2. Minutes of previous AGM

Minutes of the AGM held on 29 November 2011 were presented and accepted.

3. Business arising from previous minutes not dealt with elsewhere None

4. Reports

a. President - Lisa Worrall

Lisa Worrall thanked members for supporting the Mildura conference and thanked the Australian Clay Mineral Society (ACMS) committee for their role in organising the conference and Richard Creswell in co-ordinating the ARGA contribution and for organising the post conference field trip. Ian Roach's role in establishing and maintaining the ARGA web site was gratefully acknowledged as was the role of retiring Committee Members.

b. Treasurer - John Keeling

The financial report was tabled by John Keeling. The balance held by ARGA to 31 January 2012 was \$34, 460.73 which included income of \$1,885.00 conference registrations and \$57.14 bank interest

since end of financial year 2010-11. Anticipated conference liabilities were ~\$6,000, leaving an estimated balance, post conference, of around \$28,000.

Treasurer's report be accepted: Moved by Graham Taylor and Seconded by Andrew McPherson - Agreed.

5. Election of Office bearers and committee members

Lisa Worrall, as retiring President, retained the Chair and called for nominations for committee from the floor.

- a. President: David Gray Nominated: Graham Taylor, Seconded: Stephanie McLennan elected.
- b. **Secretary:** Matilda Thomas Nominated: Andrew McPherson, Seconded: Richard Creswell elected
- c. **Treasurer:** John Keeling Nominated: David Gray, Seconded: Alan Mauger elected.
- d. Vice President: Lisa Worrall as retiring President, Lisa automatically assumed the role of Vice President, as per the ARGA rules of association.
- d. Ordinary Committee members (3): Ian Roach, Nathan Reid (co-opted), Anna Petts (co-opted)
- e. Student representative: Stephanie McLennan
- f. Co-opted conference organiser: Vanessa Wong

6. Any Other Business

a. **Maintaining the ARGA endowment**: Philip Mulvey moved that "Decisions on conference spending seek to maintain ARGA seed funding and that future conferences aim to break even financially". Seconded: Graham Taylor.

Discussion centred on the need to spend funds to build membership in the early years of the association and in supporting keynote speakers and students so as to attract members to conferences and form a base of regolith scientists for future conferences. This was weighed against the difficulties of raising funds to seed conferences into the future should reserves be allowed to dwindle. The principle that future conferences seek to be cost neutral was endorsed by a majority of members.

- b. **Return on funds held**: Graham Taylor asked the Treasurer if funds held by the Association were attracting interest, rather than being reduced by bank charges. Advice was provided that the funds were invested in a Westpac Community Account that had few fees and had interest paid quarterly. The Treasurer undertook to review the situation to see if this might be safely improved.
- c. **Next conference**: Suggestions were made for the next conference to be held in south west Western Australia or northern Australia. These suggestions were referred to President David Gray and Conference organiser Vanessa Wong to take into consideration for future planning.

7. Meeting Close:

David Gray thanked outgoing President Lisa Worrall for her role in establishing ARGA and her considerable contributions to organizing the initial ARGA conferences. Members were thanked for attending and the meeting was closed at 1.40 pm.